I go on the radio for a few minutes!

Spoke to Huw Stephens in for Scott Mills on Radio 1 on Wednesday, which was a little scary! They asked for anyone with an interesting fact about themselves to e-mail in, and then they called me back to quiz me about it (and decide if it was worth airing) while I was in the middle of my first student shop at ALDI. They called me again to ask some more stuff the next day and then once more an hour later so I could do my bit. The fact was originally ‘I did my first skydive at the age of 10’ but the second guy asked me to change it slightly after I made an (I guess slightly humorous?) offhand comment before they recorded.

They cut about half of it out, including the bit where they ask what song I’m into at the moment, Two Fingers by Jake Bugg (probably because Huw started rambling about how this was because I like Jake Bugg and not because I like swearing at people). I like it because he comes from my hometown and it’s really weird timing that a song by an 18 year old about leaving Nottingham behind and moving on has started to gain speed just as I’m doing the same (although clearly I’m a lot cleaner!)… Well, here it is, anyway. ‘There’s a story for every corner of this place…’

I didn’t tell many people about it in advance in case I sounded like a spanner. But now that it’s over, if you’re interested you can iplayer my 3 mins of fame at http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01n92wg/Huw_Stephens_Squirrels_With_Swag_And_Kate_Middleton!/ (@47.16-50.00).

x

Leave a Reply

