I’m sorry LoveFilm Instant, but it’s over.

I know, I know. We had some good times, we laughed. Gnomeo and Juliet was much better than I expected and I finally managed to watch Miss Congeniality. But I feel that this relationship was too one-sided to pull through. I was giving so much more to you than I was getting back. I’ll be honest, your lack of variety and choice was at the root of our troubles. Things became stale after I’d watched the one or two films I genuinely wanted to see.

I can tell by the fact that you still post offers through my door 6 months after I told you it was over that this isn’t getting through to you. Well let me put it this way – remember the very first film we watched together? How my face lit up when I saw that I could stream Blue Valentine? Well, just like in the film, we have come to the end. Please don’t try to be the Ryan Gosling to my Michelle Williams and stop pestering me.

It’s time to admit you need to move on. I know it’s been tough with Netflix moving in on your ground in the UK but I’m sure you can pull through. Take some time to cry yourself to sleep listening to Zooey Deschanel if you have to. Love hurts.

x

Leave a Reply

